Fiction Worth Staying Up For
  
Click picture for close up view

Share


 

INFORMED CONSENT 
A Novel 

 

Jeremy Cramer, M.D. is the next Einstein of infectious disease research. While working on a way to revive water submersion victims, he makes a breakthrough discovery in AIDS research that thrusts him into the center of a media frenzy.

But the publicity turns negative and his marriage reaches the breaking point when he accidentally infects a colleague and his negligence allows his son to contract a life-threatening disease. The viruses test the limits of his new formula and his ethics.

In his frantic efforts to save his son and his marriage, he must decide whether to allow his child to die or violate the rights of a young transplant donor. The choice forces him to stand face-to-face with the unfathomable love required to sacrifice an only son.

Read an excerpt.

Invite me to join your book club discussion of Informed Consent. Click here to learn more.

Check out the Novel Journey interview with Sandra in which she talks about Informed Consent as well as writing and marketing fiction.  

Read what reviewers are saying:
 

Review at Title Tracker

Sandra Glahn’s Informed Consent delivers a fast-paced medical thriller that sharply weaves cutting-edge medical science and good storytelling to produce a book that engages the reader both intellectually and emotionally. With satisfying characters who face past deaths—both physical ones and the daily dying of dreams and expectations—and the slim hope of present resurrections, Glahn explores life-changing themes and life-challenging dilemmas. Expect to stay up too late reading it. I did. — David Gregory, bestselling author of Dinner with a Perfect Stranger

"An intelligent thriller with shocking twists and a very satisfying ending!" — Ginger Garrett, award-winning author of Chosen and Dark Hour

“Taut with emotional suspense, author Sandra Glahn catapults readers into the world of medical ethics, exploring the desperate lengths folks will go to find a cure. With expertly drawn characters, a Grisham-paced plot, and intelligent writing, Informed Consent is everything I like about medical thrillers.” Mary DeMuth, speaker and author, Watching the Tree Limbs

Informed Consent is a wonderful and accurate portrayal of struggles in the medical profession. Guilt, doubt, fear and pride are palpable as the ultimate decision is faced—an excellent example of the complexity seen in modern biomedical ethics. Richard L. Voet, M.D., bioethicist

I was hooked from the prologue. In her first solo novel, Glahn master-wordsmiths a must-read plot combination: a spicy dose of controversial ethics and deception, mixed in with heart-wrenching drama, which excels as a true nail-biting thriller. I loved Informed Consent!”  — Lesa Engelthaler, author, Dallas Morning News book reviewer

“I rarely read novels, but this quest makes for an engaging page turner. I recommended it to my wife and I recommend it to you!”   Darrell Bock, best-selling author, research professor of New Testament studies, Dallas Theological Seminary

“Sandra Glahn's Informed Consent is an intelligent, believable and expertly written mystery that will keep readers on pins and needles.” Anita K. Palmer, professional editor, The Strong Word / Communication Services

You can order this book from the author by clicking on the "add to cart" icon (above), which you'll find directly below the book photo.

You can also order Informed Consent from Amazon.



 

LETHAL HARVEST 
A Novel (Kregel) 

From Library Journal:
As a Machiavellian plot comes to light, everyone connected to the clinic is in danger. Cutrer and Glahn ... delve into the controversial world of cloning and genetics in relation to God's plan while offering a satisfying medical thriller suitable for most collections.

A CBA best-selling medical thriller, and a Christy Award fiction finalist in the mystery/suspense category. 

Read the Christianbooks.com profile about Lethal Harvest with  Sandra Glahn

A fine medical thriller... The authors' treatment of DNA research is well informed and compelling.  Booklist

Read the entire Booklist review of Lethal Harvest

You can order this book from the author by clicking on the "add to cart" icon (left).




 

DEADLY CURE 
A Novel (Kregel)

Dr. Tim Sullivan is dead and the critical records for his last few weeks of genetic research are missing. His well-intentioned foray into illegal human cloning has left a legacy of danger in its wake. With the bio-genetics world desperate to obtain the secrets unearthed by the research, Dr. Sullivan's surviving family and colleagues find themselves struggling to survive a treacherous mix of hidden agendas, ethical breaches and life-and-death decisions. The plot of this book resolves around adult stem cell research, euthanasia, and end-of-life issues. 

From the Library Journal review of Kraus's Could I Have this Dance: A solid, intense thriller heavy on medical terminology, this is for fans of William Cutrer and Sandra Glahn's Deadly Cure.

Crosswalk.com: The continuing medical drama by authors William Cutrer, M.D., and Sandra Glahn. The malpractice suit is still pending against Luc. The twist in the story threatens a romantic relationship. Their faith is tested throughout the story, while enduring pressure from the government. Will enough of Tim's research samples be a lifesaver or a deadly cure? Find out in this exciting sequel.

Christian Observer: An exciting story with mystery and romance, the book is well worth reading by professionals and non professionals alike.

Christian Library Journal: Perched right on the edge of today's news.

Annals of Pharmacotherapy: Very well written, well organized, easy to read, and holds the reader's attention.

You can order this book from the author by clicking on the "add to cart" icon (left).



 

FALSE POSITIVE
A Novel (WaterBrook/Random House)

The plot of False Positive revolves around sanctity of life issues such as RU-486. After a woman is rushed to the ER in shock from massive blood loss, a medical resident becomes suspicious about the procedures being practiced at the nearby abortion clinic. Soon he finds himself investigating what goes on behind closed doors. Addressing with sensitivity and conviction some of the most crucial issues of our time, False Positive takes readers on a fast-paced thrill-ride ride and brings them face-to-face with the inseparable miracles of God’s forgiveness and grace. 

Read a Baptist Press story about pro-life fiction where Dr. Cutrer talks about this book.

Read the Romantic Times review of False Positive

Read a Christianbooks.com interview with the authors about False Positive

Read an interview with Publishers Weekly about False Positive

Check out the Random House info about us and False Positive

You can order this book from the author by clicking on the "add to cart" icon (left).





Share
 

GEFÄHRLICHE SAAT 
Lethal Harvest - German edition 

Want to brush up on your German? Want to share our fiction with your German friends? Check out Gefärliche Saat, the German translation of Lethal Harvest

An einem verregneten Dezembermorgen erhält der Fortpflanzungsmediziner Dr. Morgan eine Anklageschrift, aus der eine Schadensersatzklage in Millionenhöhe zu werden droht. Der Arzt überlegt. Im zweiten Anlauf hat die Behandlung zum Erfolg geführt. Die sympathische Kalifornierin hat Zwillinge geboren. Und jetzt das. Würde ihn dieser Fall seine ganze berufliche Zukunft kosten?

 


   
next